Essentials Music Publishing and Writers Receive Top Honors at 2022 BMI Christian Music Awards


NASHVILLE, TENN. (June 16, 2022) – This week, Broadcast Music, Inc.® (BMI®) presented its 2022 BMI Christian Awards, honoring the prolific music career of BMI Icon Award recipient Steven Curtis Chapman and Christian songwriters, song and Publisher of the Year. During this annual event, Essential Music Publishing (EMP) was named Publisher of the Year, Ethan Hulse was named Songwriter of the Year for the fourth consecutive year, and “There Was Jesus” was named the 2022 BMI Christian Song of the. Year.

“What an incredible honor for EMP to be recognized as BMI Publisher of the Year,” shares Holly Zabka, Senior Vice President of Essential Music Publishing and Chief Creative Officer for Provident Label Group. “It’s a testament to the amazing roster of writers we can champion, and we couldn’t be more thrilled to see their hard work recognized. I’m grateful to our entire editorial team who continually serve our writers with great of care and dedication.

EMP received 11 of the 25 most played songs of the year (listed below). The song of the year, “There Was Jesus”, was written by Casey Beathard, Jonathan Smith and Zach Williams. This popular track was recorded by Dolly Parton and Zach Williams and was the most played Christian song of the year, and it also won the 2021 GRAMMY Award for Best Contemporary Christian Music Performance/Song. Songwriter of the Year, Hulse wrote Andrew Ripp’s “Jericho”, Jeremy Camp’s “Out of My Hands” and CAIN’s “Rise Up (Lazarus)”. Hulse signed his first publishing deal with EMP in 2016 and has since become one of the genre’s most sought-after writers.

Along with the Song Awards and honors, Provident artist Ben Fuller performed his song “Who I Am” and CAIN paid a musical tribute to Steven Curtis Chapman at his BMI Icon presentation as they performed “Great Adventure.” and “I Will Be Here.”

Essential Music Publishing – BMI Song Awards (*EMP Writers)

“Living and Breathing”
Ellie Limebear*, Matt Maher*

Jake Henry*, Jeff Pardo, Micah Tyler*

“The Battle Belongs”
Phil Wickham*

“Famous For (I Believe)”
Chuck Butler*, Krissy Nordhoff, Jordan Sapp, Tauren Wells*

“Graves in Gardens”
Chris Brown*, Steven Furtick*, Tiffany Hudson*

Ethan Hulse*, Andrew Ripp*

“Less Like Me”
Mia Fieldes*, Zach Williams*

“Out of My Hands”
Jeremy Camp, Ethan Hulse*, Jeff Sojka

“Peace endures”
Hope Darst, Mia Fieldes*, Andrew Holt

“Arise (Lazarus)”
Ethan Hulse*, Nick Schwarz*

“There was Jesus”
Casey Beathard, Jonathan Smith*, Zach Williams*

BMI’s Leslie Roberts, Songwriter of the Year Ethan Hulse, Songwriter of the Year Jason Cox, BMI’s Mike O’Neill. Photo credit: Steve Lowry for BMI

Songwriter of the Year Jason Cox, Songwriter Jonathan Smith, Songwriter of the Year Ethan Hulse, Provident’s Terry Hemmings, BMI Icon Steven Curtis Chapman, BMI’s Mike O’Neill, BMI Writer Zach Williams, Leslie Roberts of BMI, BMI songwriter Casey Beathard, Essential Music Holly Zabka of Publishing, Jamie Rodgers of Essential Music Publishing. Photo credit: Steve Lowry for BMI


Comments are closed.